Seven Days into NaNoWriMo2016 and here is what I think…

So for those who do not know what NaNoWriMo is, It is National Novel Writing Month.

On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 PM on November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought about writing a novel. via http://nanowrimo.org/about

So it is now day seven and my current word count after adding my 1667 words for today is 11,802. This is my second book I’ve ever written. My first ‘Ideas of Illusion’ will be released this month (reserve here) and it is a Novella with a word count below 30,000 and after about a year of writing and editing it is now completed.

You might imagine how 50,000 words in a month might seem like insanity to me.

I work full-time Monday through Friday. Nine a.m. to Six p.m. Waking up at four a.m. (on most days if I don’t snooze through all my alarms) Writing/Researching for an hour. Meditation and Yoga for an hour, then get ready for work by six a.m. and out the door by Seven a.m to catch my first bus from a bus stop five minutes away from my house to downtown. The bus ride is about twelve minutes to downtown then I get on the second bus downtown for a forty-five minute drive to the closest bus stop to my job by 8:30 a.m to get picked up by a co-worker/friend.

I worked out a map to get me through the NaNoWriMo and pace myself.

50,000 words

30 Days / 5 Weeks / 5 Parts 1667 words per day

Week 1 8335 Words

Week 2 11,669 Words

Week 3 11,669 Words

Week 4 11,669 Words

Week 5 6,668 Words

My NaNoWriMo book: Pin the Face on the Beast.

I think that NaNoWriMo is an excellent way to get your first draft done for your novel.  I prepared myself with a one page synopsis as well with how I want the beginning, middle, and end to turn out. (Which from the final draft may end up being completely different.) From there I focused on the word count for the day and the subject I want to touch on each chapter. I am not looking for perfection and neither should you. I hope writers who are struggling  to find time to write,  just write!! I am writing in between calls at work and managing to make my daily word count goal every time. I rest one day on the weekend and I double the word count on the day I did not rest on the weekend. If I find the time I will go back and even do some editing that way I can have a nice polished first draft when the end of November comes. The goal is 50,000 words. How you get there is up to you. Write and don’t try to figure it out the first day or even this whole month. I think it is an interesting trick of the mind. Most people will never finish a novel in their entire lifetime. Completing one in a month, no matter the quality is an empowering feeling. Plus I love writing.

 

Good luck to all those participating!

 

Leave a Reply

