Black waters

blackwaters

“Black Waters”

Black waters, black waters,

You make my body tremble with joy,

when I hear you dance

with the wind.

Black waters, black waters,

how did you charm the elements

into helping you design my black skin?

I see beauty in your mystery,

my reflection in your history,

and even with my eyes closed,

I can still see you in front of me.

Which is why some bottle you up,

and use you to conjure little spells called fear.

Only with those spells,

can a human make an elephant feel like,

they aren’t a trunk swing away from.

making any blocked pathway, clear.

Only with those spells,

can you teach a Goddess a religion,

and make her feel like,

she’s mortal here.

Black waters, black waters,

they use your magic for evil,

and abuse the flesh.

Black waters, black waters,

they use your magic,

to enslave the black man,

and kill him with stress

Black waters, black waters,

I feel every death,

wondering if I’m next.

Black water, black waters,

Created by black waters,

so every black blood spilled,

has a ripple effect.

-Kevin Prince

Leave a Reply

